Dolomites, Italy

Sassolungo, Dolomites, Italy
Credit: Roberto Ferrari

The Dolomites are a section of the Alps mountain range in Italy.

Besides the spectacular views, visitors to the Dolomites can enjoy skiing, snowshoeing, snowboarding, ice skating and sledding in the winter months, and hiking, mountaineering, mountain biking, base jumping, paragliding and hang-gliding in the summer.

The Dolomites were recently declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in August, 2009. Marmolada, the Dolomites’ largest peak, stands 3,344 meters (10,972 feet) tall.

The Dolomites span three Northeastern Italian provinces: Belluno, Bolzano-Bozen and Trento. Accommodation can be found in any of the many cities and villages in the area.

Marmolada Westgrat, Dolomites, Italy - Panorama
Credit: Marco Kl├╝ber
Rosengarten, Dolomites, Italy
Credit: 5348 Franco
Geislergruppe, Dolomites, Italy
Credit: Rotraud Weiss
Vajolet Alpine Hut, Dolomites, Italy
Credit: Jack Brauer
Karersee Rosengarten, Dolomites, Italy
Credit: 5348 Franco

2 thoughts on “Dolomites, Italy

Comments are closed.